Chasing a Slice.

You might think you’ve had good pizza, but unless you’ve been to Pizzeria Beddia in the Fishtown district of Philly, you’re way off. Yesterday Elizabeth and Natalie and I hopped in the car in pursuit of America’s best named by Bon Appetit mag back in 2015. Little did I know I would also find the Instagram location of my dreams and enough murals to last me a lifetime.

A little background before we get into it: Pizzeria Beddia is only open 4 days a week from 5:30-10:30pm. The little hole in the wall has no sign; you’d totally walk right past it if you weren’t searching. They make only 40 pies a night, each cooked one at a time with love by the pizza guru himself, Joe Beddia. For more info, read the Bon Appetit article. It’ll make you drool, I promise.
P.S. We waited in line for two and a half hours and it was beyond worth it. 

We also made a stop at the Magic Gardens. This empty-lot-turned-mosic-wonderland currently occupies 80% of my camera roll and I wouldn’t have it any other way. Created by Isaiah Zagar, themes from his life, such as Latin-American culture and… nudity, run through the multi-leveled oasis like a journal. Be sure to ask about the history as you snap millions of pictures. 

Here’s my photo diary of the best way to celebrate Summer in the cheesesteak city.

Cheers to photo shoots and perfect pies. 

Pizzeria Beddia Cook Books

Let’s just say I went to bed with a food baby and the best memories. 


Stuck in my head: Run // COIN
Snap it: Philadelphia Magic Gardens

Leave a Reply

