Passing Down the Pom Poms. 

Growing up with a sister is basically having a servant, a best friend, and a number one fan by your side constantly and endlessly. So it’s every little diva’s dream. Lucky for me, I didn’t just get a sister, I got Callie. There is no one more agreeable in the entire world than that girl. She played with all the ugly Barbies, ate all the burnt chicken nuggets, and still smiled like she was just handed the key to the world. 

My Dad always tells the story that right before she came home from the hospital, he sat me down and told me it was time to step into the big sister role. He claims I maturely adjusted my personality and it was a perfect fit. What I really think happened was I learned that by being around Callie I could get more attention. Nonetheless, we became glued at the hip. The Kit to my Kat. The green vegetable to whatever was for dinner. The Dinks to my Baby (our childhood stuffed animals).

As she’s matured over the years, out of her skulls and punk rock phase into a more classic middle school era, so much is exactly the same as the brown eyed baby that changed my life fourteen years ago. Same sense of humor that leaves you teary-eyed and hunched over. Same scary level of maturity that makes college kids forget she’s actually still in middle school. Same love for our family and commitment to making people happy. Our closeness is one of the reasons going to college was so difficult. It created so many holes in my life I didn’t realize she’d been filling. And what sucks is that I know this will never get easier, it’s just part of growing up and accepting change. 

I can only imagine it being hard to live in the shadow of an older sibling, yet Callie’s never been one to follow exact footsteps. When she started gymnastics years ago I really thought that was the end of her living my same adventures. And while she created her own memories and gained skill and strength that continuously shames me into the gym, I always wished for her to experience high school the way I did from the 50 yard line, poms in hand, team of amazing girls by my side. 

When Callie decided to pause her gymnastics career and tryout for Poms this year it was really everything I could’ve asked for. After such hardwork, I’m proud to say I’ll get to swap places with my best friend and cheer her on from the sidelines. Warning: I’ll probably be bawling my eyes out.

Callie, you have such a strong, positive energy to you and I can’t wait to see you bring this to everything you conquer in life. This post is sounding more like a Bat Mitzvah speech than a funny, lighthearted tribute to you, but you’ve been asking for a post and I definitely owe you one. I’ve never doubted your ability to succeed, and I can’t wait to see you make this your own. Love every second of it, even when it’s miserable and painful, because it’s over so fast. Every high V, every turn, every C-Jump. You’re in for such an unforgettable ride. I’m so grateful you get to live this part of my journey. 

No, I’m not crying. I’m just allergic to my sister growing up. 


Stuck in my head: Superbass // Nikki Minaj
Snap it: National Gallery of Art, DC

Coach Kaleigh, if you see this, Callie is much funnier than me, but PLEASE don’t like her better. I still need your love. 

Leave a Reply

