Saying Goodbye to SuperGreens.

If you even relatively know me, you would know that every other word out of my mouth is a praise for CAVA. From their genius social strategy to having hummus so delicious I drool at the thought of it, I have such a huge appreciation for the company. As the semester winds down, I want to reflect on the most valuable things I’ve learned being part of the CAVA marketing team.

  1. Your incredibly energized when you love what you do. Sure I only worked 12 hours a week this semester, but there was never a morning I couldn’t wait to get into the office. No  matter the task, it’s always easier knowing you’re doing it for a brand you believe in with people who believe in you.
  2. There’s no shame in double Crazy Feta. Never have I thought twice about grabbing a snack or going in for another bite of Harissa Nachos. The culture and appreciation for food at CAVA runs deep and it’s taught me to savor each bite, but also each memory. Food is more than being full, it’s a relationship builder and a uniter. I mean, how can you not make a friend over a side of falafel?
  3. Being surrounded by creative people is inspiringI can’t lie, the creativity from CAVA’s marketing team often leaves me speechless or rambling “I love it” like I’ve just found the perfect prom dress. But, seeing so much originality has opened me to the concept that there are no bad ideas and you shouldn’t be scared to speak up. And while some suggestions will inevitably get shot down, it’s about getting back up, tapping into your inspiration networks, and brainstorming again. It’s a challenge not to settle for simple, but I’m excited to start better utilizing my resources (aka Pinterest & Instagram Influencers) and break out of the mold years of school have built. It’s time to get out of the box.
  4. Everything I’ve done with the team has made me more dedicated to finding my professional edge. Each person is so talented and it’s inspiring to watch them all change the fast-casual industry with each new project. Between photo/video,  graphics,  customer service, and social content, it’s impossible to choose one avenue to praise above another. Recently, I’ve been thinking a lot about my professional specialty. Sure, dedication and enthusiasm are noteworthy, but their not the driving forces of my future career. I’m scared to try new things, but I’m excited to explore more aspects of marketing and try to find my niche. Social content feels like it will always have my heart, but there are so many other sides of the field that I haven’t even begun to explore. Hiking boots on, this is going to be one long journey.
  5. Giving and receiving gratitude feels goodAfter every project, big or small, hour long or month long, someone was on the other side of it making sure my efforts were appreciated. And it always felt good to know that my hard work was giving someone else a little lighter of a load. I will never be able to write enough thank you notes for all the amazing projects I’ve done and things I’ve eaten this past semester, but the biggest one I want to express is for making me feel like part of the family. The Hummus to your Harissa. A snacktime soulmate.

So here’s to a bright future, exploring for the summer, and a semester that was so full of CAVA bowls I had to change my order 4 times.

Thank you endlessly.

Stuck in my head: My Body // Young the Giant
Snap it: Chinatown Cava

Leave a Reply

