It’s All About The Aestheic.

Since I spend all my time posting on Instagram or wanting to post on Instagram I figured it was about time to reveal my Instagram social strategy. No, it’s not just IG whatever’s on the plate today, each post goes through a series of steps before it can be deemed *ready for insta*. If I’m being totally honest, some pictures come to me in visions and I can’t eat/sleep/function until I capture them IRL. Okay fine, I can eat and sleep. But functioning is hard when that perfect post isn’t in your camera roll.

Each post is a little different, but most follow the same guidelines. Horizontal, flash if indoor, natural light preferred, probably closed smile, coffee in hand if available. Might seem simple but it’s not. You can ask my sister/personal photographer. Think ten thousand shots, ten thousand angles, and ten thousand complaints from the model. But hey, I’m just trying to capture a memory.

From there we go into editing. Nothing extreme, just playing with contrast, brightness, and lux. The goal is to make the photo kiiinnndddaa match the rest of the photos on your profile feed. This is where the element of aestheic comes in. If you’re a teenage girl right now you know what I’m talking about. If you’re not a teenage girl then you’re definitely questioning my sanity and it sounds like I’m speaking gibberish. Hang in there with me.

Your IG aesthetic is the vibe of your feed. This term popped up with the rise of Instagram Influencers and it’s one of my favorite aspects of the platform. Essentially, you’re building a personality and a brand through your feed, and the way you do that is by purposely posting pictures that reflect that vibe. That vibe is your aesthetic and your aesthetic is your profile. I try and aim for a little city, a little campus, and mostly Cava. Finally it gets sent to a few bffs for comments and suggestions, captioned (always ending with a . because consistency, hello), and debated for another 2 or so minutes. Then, it’s out of my control and into the Insta-sphere.

I could talk about Instagram forever, but here’s the truth to my thoughts behind a post. What would Lucie B. Fink/Katy Bellotte/theFeedFeed/Aimee Song** do? To me, Instagram is also about being inspired and sharing photos you’re proud of. So when I hit that share button in the top right corner of the app it’s because this is something that’s worth it. It’s those fun nights out, those fun nights in, and all the meals in between. 

So I’ll just put this out there. I’m Instagram obsessed, well dressed, and aiming to impress. And if you don’t like it, feel free to unfollow.


Stuck in my head: Hey Now // Matt and Kim
Snap it: My Instagram Feed, find it here.

Keep in mind I want to work in social media!  I’m not just like super crazy. There’s a plan behind the passion, don’t worry. 

** These are some of my favorite Instagram bloggers. Check them out. Major IG crushes. 

Leave a Reply

