Calling More Cooks to the Kitchen

Take one look at my Instagram and based on the Cava recipes I’ve posted you would think I’m genius with a knife and some mircogreens. Fact: I don’t even know the difference between a “clove” of garlic and a garlic.

One of my favorite parts of my internship is working with Marissa (think intern friend turned boss/mentor) to film Snapchat and Instagram stories. Besides living out my modeling dreams & getting to pretend to have my own cooking show, it’s been a really great opportunity to experience something so foreign and strange to me. I mean, I know what a whisk is, but why would I ever actually use it? Also, I’ve learned a little about what I like, don’t like, and never want to touch again in the kitchen.

Each recipe is it’s own adventure complete with a learning curve. Our first endevour that made a splash was the Harissa Avocado Grilled Cheese, which set the cooking difficulty bar a little low and the flavor wow factor way high for recipes to come. With each new Toast Tuesday & Hummus Hacks segment I’ve gotten way out of my kitchen comfort zone, which previously consisted of scrambling eggs and baking broccoli. And the best part of all of it is that when things get a little too Top Chef for us, there are so many experienced friends in the office volunteering to help the culinarily-challenged. Leave no hummus lover behind. 

Things I like: Drizzling pomegranate molasses on roasted eggplant & spreading hummus on things.

Things I don’t like: Really hot kitchens with not enough counter space, the smell of turmeric, & how onions actually do make you cry.

Things I never want to touch again: Smoked salmon.

I don’t see myself becoming a star with a stove, but there’s definitely something to be said about becoming more comfortable in the kitchen the more time you spend in it. Besides learning how to sprinkle paprika without it clumping and knead pizza dough, flexibility is a big complement to cooking. Sometimes a little substitution can competely change the chemistry of a meal, and sometimes it adds that little hint of what was missing in the first place. Life can basically be like running out of a spice and having to think and substitute in the moment. Better hope you don’t ruin the dish. 

Catch some of my favorite Cava recipes here. And watch their Instagram stories here to see my hand modeling in action.

Do you ever love your job more than Crazy Feta? Because I definitely do.


Stuck in my head: New Man // Ed Sheeran
Snap it: Loaded Avo Toast (it was so good I cried a little), Cava HQ

 

Leave a Reply

