A Month of No Sweat.

The Netflix filled nights of break have been traded for textbooks and trainings & I’m totally okay with it. Aimlessness has never really been my thing. I’m more of a to-do list kind of girl. Not that no reason Target runs weren’t great, I just find academics a little more fulfilling.

All change is hard, but changing routine is always the hardest. Over break I momentarily detached myself from my one true love: exercise. If you know me at all, you know this was heartwrenching and emotional to live through (insert tears here). Spin bikes were replaced by walks to the fridge and I basically forgot what a dumbell was. But through my *fitness pause* I learned a lot about body image and how meaningful exercise is to me. 

I’m such a body positive preacher. Learn it, see it in the mirror, love it. And I originally thought that taking a break from my intense exercise schedule would lead all that positivity to falter. It’s natural to associate inactivity with gaining weight, and gaining weight with lower self confidence. Though I was suffering through my down time, I really enjoyed spending even more time with the people I loved, doing whatever we were doing, whether it was devouring a pizza or shopping. Focusing my energy more on making the most of the moments I had with my friends and family made the days pass like minutes and dulled my eagerness to get back to the gym. The pressure of idleness faded and for the first time in a long time skipping the gym wasn’t more tragic than the Titanic. 

But don’t you dare for a second think that I stopped missing the sweat that starts in your elbows as you squat or the beat that pushes you through that sprint. Everyday I wished I could get up and lift it out, and finally ONE MONTH LATER I could.

Sitting on the spin bike for the first time in a while was a little nerve wracking but more exciting. For me, the thrill of a hard workout is almost romantic. With my spin classes (that I’m teaching!!!) starting next week, it’s crunch time to whip my body back into shape. I’ve never backed down from a challenge, and this definitely won’t be the first time. Double workouts days, here I come.

So here’s my two cents, if you’ve ever wanted to workout, just get out there and do it. Find the type of fitness that makes you passionate because once you love it, there’s no turning back. Turn Instagram goals into personal goals and get on that stairclimber today. You can totally have a Kardashian butt if you climb hard enough.

Here’s to being happy doing nothing, happy doing something, and happy inbetween. Today’s workout is definitely going in my 100 Happy Days book. Feels good to be back where I belong. 


Stuck in my head: Peanut Butter Jelly // Galantis
Snap it: Madewell, NYC

 

Leave a Reply

