Why I Love Where I Am…

I’ve always had an insanely amazing relationship with my parents. My dad takes all the credit, says he was tough in the beginning so he’d have less to do later, but I think it’s really because I am the biggest parent lover in the entire world and they just got lucky. 

University of Maryland has been in the family for generations, I’m talking parents, grandparents, the whole thing, so while it was a question of where I would go, it was never a question of where my parents wanted me to go. Terp is in our blood. We basically bleed red, black, white, and gold.

Every student goes through the college (panic) process where they really have to sit down and think if a school is really for them. Lucky for me, UGA, my almost top choice, got ruled out because I didn’t make honors there, so it was Maryland or bust. Well not bust, I had plenty of other options. Just none of them screamed “you belong with me” quite like a fancy turtle & an Under Armour partnership.

Every day I thank my lucky stars that I was rejected from Georgia honors because it brought me so much closer to a world that means so much to my parents, especially my Dad. Walking the streets of College Park I can’t help but feel so tied to my family history here. Not to be sappy, but I think college makes you really become the person you are and it can really define you, and I am so fortunate to get to experience a place that took such a big part in creating my parents’ identities.

Standing in the middle of my Dad’s Delta Tau Delta tailgate back during football season (think a giant neightboorhood Dad party but with Fireball and Helluvah dip) I couldn’t help but feel so connected to him. For the rest of our lives, we will both love something so much and I can’t even express how much that means to me.

I guess the point is that I am so happy to be back at good ole UMD. Even when it’s stressful and hard and overwhelming (hint hint, foreshadowing my upcoming semester), the thought that I share this place with the two greatest people I know only makes me fall more in love with being here.

Thank you for giving me the opportunity to share something so special with you. I promise not to go toooooo far for grad school. But the city still calls.


Stuck in my head: Morocco // Moon Taxi
Snap this pic: College Park

I say lucky waaaaaay too many times in this post. BRB, signing up for Thesaurus.com’s word of the day email right now.

Also just a disclaimer, this was written waaaay back when and totally neglected until now. I’m trying to get my stuff together here before it all hits the fan and I lose my sanity & free time. & it’s never too late to show some parent love. 

Leave a Reply

