Call Me, Beep Me, If You Wanna Reach Me 

Techonolgy is really something. I mean the world has the ability to connect in a way that was never possible before. And while I wasn’t able to comprehend the rise of the digital the way the generation above me was, I still have an appreciation for it outside the iPad.

You always hear that communication is key and if you’re like me you can’t help but picture it as a little, silver Tiffany necklace danging next to your collarbone. If you’re not like me then that reference probably went way over your head. But hey, my blog, my voice, my jewelry jokes.  In all reality, lately I’ve been thinking that communication is actually responsible for building and maintaing relationships. After all, how will MC know I want him to compliment my outfit unless I tell him to?

When two people fight it’s easy to get caught up in the moment and look for weakness. And while not everyone shares my mentality, I think it’s more productive to feel, think, then share, not just throw insults and lame excuses like this is the championship of some sport & you’re thinking “why the hell not.” And that’s where technology comes into play.

For me, a huge crier but also a reasonable person, confrontation can end in missed points and relentless frustration because naturally it’s pretty hard not to get distracted when mascara is running down my face and my words are sounding more like caveman speak than arguments. So naturally, the idea of finding my words before I’m put on the spot is kinda my thing. And with texting I think that there’s the ability to be sincere and real and articulate, as long as the relationship was built through real life. It’s true, there’s a detachment when you’re hidden behind a screen, but if the capacity to understand and apply already exists outside of iMessage, it gives the crier a huge advantage to get a point across. Believe me, I know from experience.

But I also know from experience that some people shoot to kill and nothing is off limits. Especially when they don’t have to think about the repercussions of their actions. If there’s one thing I have zero tolerance for it’s girl on girl hate between friends. It honestly just baffles me. The possibility and sensibility of conversation will always come screeching to a halt when targeted insults get involved. You are so not getting a text back. And the worst part is, had it all happened in person, none of this would have even went down.

So here’s what we learned today, kids. Technology is great because Google, Instagram, medical stuff, etc. It lets you share your thoughts without turning into a psycho Blank Space music video Taylor Swift, but be careful, the detachment of a text can also bite you in the ass. Ouch, that’s gonna leave a mark.

Ugh, Maybe we should just go back to writing letters.


Stuck in my head: Step // Vampire Weekend
Snap it: DuPont Circle

 

Leave a Reply

