The Age Dilemma.

While my mom may still write some of my important emails, there’s nothing I love more than getting dressed up & hopping on the metro to intern. Cava is an absolute dream to me- great people, great projects, great (free) food. And I’m so excited to see what next semester of hummus and harissa will bring.

But see, there’s this other phenomenon that has been swirling around my head for a couple months now… the summer intership. Somehow, even as a freshman, the pressure to find the next big resume builder is always lingering in the shadows. Call it a craving for success or a flaw in the whole college thing. You decide.

Now, for me, I think internships are different. I’ve only ever worked in positions I loved (I mean, hello, who doesn’t want to monitor Instagram and Pinterest all day), and because of it I think I have a strange perception of working where everyone loves their job more than their children and finding your ~dream~ job is just a matter of working hard enough to get it. 

Here’s a little context- if you know me, you know I am extremely ambitous. Some would call it overzealous. I call it determined. I’ve known the path I want to follow (career wise) for a while, which has led me to connect other passions to the same purpose. During my not-so-brief Taylor Swift stalker days I researched where her marketing team was HQed so I knew where I would have to move after college (side note: the internet seems to think she’s her own marketing genius, but there’s obviously a team behind her…I mean really… come on, Google). From there my love for food, fashion, and fitness have sparked interests in other companies, most of which don’t necessarily need an 18 year old running around their office in a over-the-knee boots and retro Ray Bans. 

But here’s the thing, I love to work. I find putting fingers to keyboard and putting together work I’m proud of the most satisfying part of a day. Sure getting As is great, I mean I’m the spokesperson for them, I love them more than a perfectly poached egg, I feel as though I could potentially die without them, but completing a task in *the real world* gives me the triumph of feeling one step closer to a DC apartment and an inbox full of emails. & I don’t work to finish, most every project I do I aim to exceed expectations. You want the names of 10 local businesses, I’ll give you 20. You want the project by Friday, I’ll have it on your desk in an hour. I’m not your average college student. I work to kill & I still get 9 hours of sleep a night. 

So, now on to my frustration with the whole work world. With an attitude like mine, it’s still impossible to be a candidate on paper when you’re this young. A couple work experiences, one semester of college, zero business school classes. I mean come on, I might as well just sleep my way through summer.

But hey, that’s never been my style. So I guess I’ll just try twice as hard, work twice as fast, and write twice as many cover letters. Yeah, that’s more like it.

I mean, it’s Summer, who needs the ocean when you can have an office. 


Stuck in my head: Shape of You // Ed Sheeran
Snap it: Adams Morgan

I have some internship leads. I’m working on it. Surprised? You shouldn’t be. 

Leave a Reply

