Tick tock…

In the grand scheme of things, a minute in your day is like a second in your whole life, yet I can’t help but hold every minute as dear as the next.

Something hit me recently, time might be my greatest source of anxiety, but it’s also my best friend. I’ve been gifted so many amazing people in my life and now it’s on me to take advantage of the clock.

Two things most people know about me- I am a huge crier & I love my family more than anything in the entire world. More than Instagram, more than spin classes, more than an supergreens bowl with extra falafel and a cup of Vanilla Bean Limeaid. Put the two together and you have me crying over every veterans coming home video, sentimental family scene in a movie, basically every time I think to hard about how lucky I am to have the life I do.

Stressing over time is normal for me. The simple thought of an analogue clock ticking the seconds away is enough to send me into a whirlwind of checking my day planner. Add the fear of missing out on precious family moments on top of that- enter stress sweats.

As I get older the people I love do, too, and my nightmares are full of running out of time with them. It’s why I’m not a huge fan of being away from home (& I’m just down the beltway). I’ve never experienced real pain before, and knowing that someday I will is really scary and paralyzing. But it’s not about waiting for that moment, it’s about seizing every moment before.

I’ve started consciously making more of an effort to keep in touch with the people I love. FaceTime me whenever, I’ll probably complain about some slew of homework assignments, but I will always have a free moment to appreciate our connection. Email me. Call me. Text. Twitter DM. Whatever it is, I want the notification. Today. 

When it comes down to it I just want the people who mean so much to me to feel the love that I feel for them all the time. I am a huge fan of a handwritten thank you note. Nothing is more genuine and heartwarming than taking the time to express gratitude, especially in this age of technology and ego. But instead of writing each of you a note, I want this to be my official thank you. It’s also a promise to grab every second by the pigtails because before I know it I’m going to be all grown up & my opportunity to learn from such amazing people may not be there anymore.

And to my most loyal reader, keep the comments coming. Nothing makes me smile wider.

& with finals around the corner I could use a couple extra smiles. 


Stuck in my head: Two of Us on the Run // Lucius
Snap it: KW

Happy Birthday to one of my fav readers- Mommy! Love you!!
Can’t wait for Thankgiving when the family will be whole again (@Sara why you gotta go so far away?)

Leave a Reply

