Why I Finished That Donut…

Some of my all time favorite memories revolve around one single thing… food. It’s those bite filled moments that leave a mark on me and I think it’s because food has this innate power to bring people together. What screams friendship louder than a pizza? 


This weekend was one of reunions on many levels & each included a different series of entrees. Sitting next to my best friend, Christian, in a Cava talking for hours on end it was like those 3 months of separation never existed. Confessions over Crazy Feta. Housewives minus the wine. We all know by now that I’m weirdly emotional and attached to people who mean a lot to me, so seeing Christian gave me all the feels.

Update: he’s good and is officially a Boston boy minus the accent (but the accent is probably on the way). As he force fed me pita chips (I swear I didn’t even want them) I couldn’t help but think about how different life is now. It’s not a bad thing or a good thing, it’s just a thing and it’s an adventure and over a arugula bowl and a blackberry sage lemonade it was like time was paused and we we’re back to our 6:30 wildcat mornings.

And then because I love causing myself emotional distress I took a trip over to the legendary WJ for poms senior night. Spoiler: I cried and they were amazing. It was one of those moments when it really hits you that even after you leave, life keeps moving. Not going to lie, my first response to standing in the sound booth next to Coach K was panic that I wasn’t on the field. Believe me I totally don’t miss the stress of the season (think shin splints and mental breakdowns) but I miss the seconds of connection. The bonding over push-ups and pop tarts. The schools “most flexible team” was more devoted to sandwiches than stretching. Totally a team I belonged on.

And then it all comes back to MC. I think our relationship is primarily built on food & the fact that he loves the fat man inside me that can definitely out eat him any day. Long distance has proven to be more difficult than I thought when I wrote my first blog post a couple months ago. Weeks feel like years and sometimes there are tears where there wouldn’t normally be. It sucks and it drains you. But there’s still no one else I’d rather have watch me eat an entire box of gushers.

All in all, I think it’s more than the plate you order off the menu, it’s the experience and the memories that make the meal. I always hear the stories of my dad throwing bits of grilled scallops in the pool at the beach for me to swim around and scoop up and of my sister and I vacuuming edamame off our old wooden table with our mouths while chanting “Go Googoo Go!”

At Cava they always ask their employees their favorite food memory and I’ve always been dying to answer but when I really think about it I can’t pinpoint one moment that rises above the rest. My life has been a snack filled tornado of smiles and good fortune & I just want to thank food for giving me the grounds to get one forkful closer to all the people I love.

So what’s the point? Go out and eat and love it. Because with coffee comes a friend and with each bite comes a new story. 


Stuck in my head: Runaround Sue // Houndmouth
Snap this: Blue Heaven, KW

Sorry for my brief break there- 60 paged project due in 1 week killing me here. Condolences accepted in the form of gummy bears and money. 

Leave a Reply

