Call Me an Honorary (insert Michigan’s mascot here)…

Live, love, Terps. All the way, baby. But I’ve gotta say… Michigan is pretty cool (literally and figuratively). This past weekend I took a little trip in time and lived it up with WJ Poms legend, Rachel (aka Rallen), and my main squeeze, Amanda_Stacy144, just like it was junior year and I was taking a break from SAT studying. Beyond being extremely excited to see the two people who understand every struggle I’ve ever faced, I was eager to get a look inside Amanda’s new life. Sorority, tailgating, restaurant hopping- new friends, new scene. I got to live it all and here’s how it went…

Day 1 in the Tundra: Let’s hit the highlights: I learned a wonderful lesson from my Uber driver about his past failed business ventures and how printer technology is a difficult field to break into. I developed a best friend crush on Amanda’s roommmate, Julia (please keep meeting stalker boys on the bus and cyberbullying Spoon accounts). I ate some salmon and salad at a cute little Italian place with Ral, Amandy, & friends from the floor (Courtney and Madi- you guys are perfect, never change.) We were serenaded with the Michigan fight song by the entire restaurant & an old person accapella group. Just so you know, they were not drunk, they were singing by choice. Michigan Alumni, am I right? Meal one ranked a 8/10 on the Holy Crap I Can Never Eat the Dining Hall Food Again Scale (HCICNEDHFA Scale), which is above a 5 so that’s pretty good food right there. Night time = Zeta (Amanda’s sorority) outdoor social themed 80s In Aspen. I wore a turtle neck sweater because it was 38 degrees and in 38 degrees themes are not my priority. The night ended with campus famous “feta bread” and a snuggley, too short, sleep in Amanda’s bed (feta bread was only a 6/10 on the HCICNEDHFA Scale, sorry Manders!)

Day 2 in the Tundra: Game Day the Mich Way! I’m going to summarize today in a series of phrases. Navy and Maize. Shivering. 9 miles of walking. Beer in my hair. Best sandwich I’ve ever had (Gbless Amer’s. 10/10 on the HCICNEDHFA Scale. Enter dreams of “The Georgia Reuben” and nightmares of the creepy old man that hit on me there). Napping. Exhausted giggle fest. Big Sean concert. I love Amanda and Rachel. BFC on Julia grows stronger. I found a bag of candy corn. 

Day 3 in the (slightly warmer) Tundra: Only needed 1 jacket today! Rachel and I went to breakfast at the famous Sava’s Restaurant where the floors were gorgeous and the food was even prettier (9/10 on the scale). Update: fried french toast should be called funnel cake on steriods. After some shopping I spent the rest of the day doing homework because it’s college. Not my college, but still college. Ended the day with pizza and candy corn (6/10 for the pizza, 10/10 for the candy corn #weakness) & woke up to Amanda taking pictures of me sleeping (I am an adorable sleeper so I don’t know what you’re going to do with those).

Overall, I was super sad to leave Michigan & even sadder that I had to wake up at 5:45 am to make my flight. I definietely didn’t fall in love with cold weather and the trek from central campus to Amanda’s dorm on North but it made me nostalgic and sad to think that my best friend has a new life that I’m not really part of anymore. I’m not being dramatic, I am obviously still important to her and we are still very much in each other’s lives, but she has things/does things that I don’t know and for the first time, it’s okay that I don’t know. College does that. I don’t really like it, but I have to live with it. Of course I’m selfish and wish that I slept in the bed next to hers (watch out Julia, I’ll be back), but out of all the possible scenarios I am happiest leaving her knowing how perfect Michigan and her friends are for her there. 

Thank you for an amazing weekend, I should probably Google what your mascot is since I am now a “Michigan Friend” & have a t-shirt to prove it.


Stuck in my head: Will You Love Me Forever? // Margo and the Nuclear So And So’s
Snap it: Sava’s Restaurant // Ann Arbor

Shoutout to Julia, Courtney, & Madi- you guys are troopers. Sorry I exposed Amanda’s weirdest self. Good luck getting the baby voice to stop. Peace, love, tracking pee. 

Rachel- gbless your photo & friendship skills. I know you don’t read these, but maybe one day you’ll see this. You hate hugs, but I am sending you a virtual one right now. 1, 2, 3… sent! 

Amandastacy_144- See you soon, text you sooner. Don’t be a stranger. Ever. Or I will probably end up dead. Thanks for making my big life decisions and writing my text messages for me. One last thing- “Why you do dat?” (All of this was written in baby voice and should be read in baby voice) 

Leave a Reply

