18 on 18

I’ve always been the baby of the bunch & I honestly never minded it. Lately I’ve been facing the crisis of becoming an adult. Like hello, I swear I was 8 yesterday wearing my Little Mermaid nightgown and eating Easy Mac like it was crack and I was an addict. I recently realized that I am totally unprepared to be responsible for myself. I don’t really even know how to use an oven- what if I starve because I get tired of microwave/toasted/grilled/raw food? Enter hyperventilation. What’s better than calling all the adults you know and begging for life-hacks? Blogging to all the adults you know for life-hacks.

Dear people who successfully turned 18 once upon a time, please ease my transition.

  1. Is my metabolism slowly going to slow down until I can’t just eat pizza whenever I want?
  2. Do lunges ever get easier?
  3. Can I still call my dad about every medical question I have… and business question… and homework questions… And life questions?
  4. What is a mortgage?
  5. Am I expected to memorize my social security number now?
  6. What is a social security number?
  7. Do I need my own insurance or something?
  8. Am I supposed to like caviar now?
  9. Will I automatically like the taste of alcohol now that I’m an adult?
  10. Is it socially acceptable to go to work slightly hungover?
  11. How do you pay taxes?
  12. What is a lease and how do you sign it?
  13. How tough is the job market really?
  14. Do I actually have to read the print on documents before I sign them now?
  15. Do I have to watch the news for fun?
  16. Should I actually separate colors and whites when I do laundry?
  17. Who is my doctor now?
  18. Is it okay to miss being a kid sometimes?

Who knows maybe none of this will even apply to me. I could marry some rich man that knows all about being old and just cruise through life like I was 17. As if. We all know I have plans for myself. And none of them involve an old man paying my bills (unless it’s my dad, but he’s not old, just seasoned).

So I guess it’s time to figure this whole life thing out. Calling all the life professionals- watch out, I’m moving in.

 


Stuck in my head: Cecelia & The Satelite // Andrew McMahon in the Wilderness
Snap it: El Centro, DC

+Info: Taco Tuesday at El Centro is the way to turn 18. & welcome to the adult club, Molly. So thankful for sharing closets and sharing birthdays. & Olivia is the best roommate ever. Ok. I’m done. 

Leave a Reply

